2018 - Half Year Review

Rob

Rob

2018 Goal Review.. how am I getting on..??

Wow... we're half way through the year.. and the goals I talked about over the new year and wrote about are almost half way through...

Here's my progress report for the year to date... :-) based on my goal setting, and also setting up my 2018 programme..

Goals Set AND Achieved:

  1. Compete in the Crossfit Open in early 2018, with the aim to complete each workout able to score at least 1 repetition for each defined movement RX.
     YES!! Achieved... but only because I didn't get to the muscle ups.. I was timed out beforehand by being so slow at Double Unders..
    But I'll take it.

  2. Create a personal training plan for 3 months (Jan-March) to allow for cross discipline training for Crossfit and running. This will include 4 sessions per week of running to hit 25+ miles per week.
    YES!! Achieved.. well at least partly... I created a plan, but injury meant I couldn't follow through on all of the running..
  3. Create a personal nutrition plan for Jan-March to (finally) kick my cake habit and start eating a more balanced diet to support my training (rather than eating what I like because I’m training!)
    YES!! Achieved..but a little late 
    I didn't get the plan in place early in the year, but I have been working with a nutritionist now for nearly 3 months. I've lost over a stone in weight, and I'm managing my cake habit!! I'll write more on this separately!


Goal Under Way... PB Marathon.... now that's a different story, I'll share more of that soon :-)

Rob

Rob

The grumpy old man... played county level at multiple sports, semi-pro football and since retiring from rugby taken part and completed in single to multi day adventure races, half marathons, marathons, ultra running, triathlon, half ironman, ironman. A qualified PT, Kettlebell Coach and Personal Coach.. Loves cake!

Related Entries

Lessons Learned - Crashing in France

Lessons Learned - Crashing in France

A new attempt at the Marmotte this year had a very different result. Crashing in France threw up a whole number of issues, so here's a guide to racing overseas, and what you should do if you have an accident!

Staying on track with a nutrition plan..

Staying on track with a nutrition plan..

One of the most common questions I get asked is how I stay on track with my nutrition plan.. Here's my thoughts on how I've been able to keep to the plan, and also how to look out for those times when you may be wobbling!

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - June 2018

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - June 2018

Looking for inspiration for getting fit after 50, 60 or more. This is a monthly list of inspirational articles we have read that we wanted to share! It is updated weekly, so bookmark it to keep coming back!

The PT Challenge-3 ; Nutrition Plan

The PT Challenge-3 ; Nutrition Plan

3 weeks and I'll share what my goals are, and how I've been getting on so far!

Picking Your Activity - a beginners guide

Picking Your Activity - a beginners guide

You know you want to do something.. this little guide will help you pick the right activity to choose

The PT Challenge-2

The PT Challenge-2

I've gone through the initial consulation, goal setting and framing my current position and the immediate and obvious gap is Nutrition.

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - April 2018

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - April 2018

Looking for inspiration for getting fit after 50, 60 or more. This is a monthly list of inspirational articles we have read that we wanted to share! It is updated weekly, so bookmark it to keep coming back!

The PT Challenge-1

The PT Challenge-1

There is an old business saying that you need to eat your own dog food. Essentially this means you should practice what you preach, so for me, I am going to be fully writing up my Personal Training process and planning as if I was a new client.

How to get started.. a beginners guide

How to get started.. a beginners guide

You know you want to do something.. this little guide will help you get started..

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - February 2018

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - February 2018

Looking for inspiration for getting fit after 50, 60 or more. This is a monthly list of inspirational articles we have read that we wanted to share! It is updated weekly, so bookmark it to keep coming back!

2018 Training Programme - Taking the time to create a high level training programme...

2018 Training Programme - Taking the time to create a high level training programme...

Training Programme and Training planning - putting the elements together for an overall 2018 training plan.

What is Fit After 50?

What is Fit After 50?

Helping you find inspiration : What is Fitafter50 about? Challenges, Events, Sports, Stories and Reviews and a community for helping people of 50 and above find their next challenge.

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - January

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - January

Looking for inspiration for getting fit after 50, 60 or more. This is a monthly list of inspirational articles we have read that we wanted to share! It is updated weekly, so bookmark it to keep coming back!

Setting achievable goals for 2018

Setting achievable goals for 2018

A brief guide to help you set yourself achievable and realistic goals - an ideal start for new challenges in 2018!

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - December

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - December

Looking for inspiration for getting fit after 50, 60 or more. This is a monthly list of inspirational articles we have read that we wanted to share! It is updated weekly, so bookmark it to keep coming back!

October 2017 - #runeveryday 31 days of my life

October 2017 - #runeveryday 31 days of my life

#runeveryday is a challenge to honour the english runner, olympian Ron Hill who recorded a daily run, every day for 50 years + !!! I decided to give myself the challenge for a month - and it turned out to be a really interesting time!

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - November

Fit After 50 : Articles of the Month - November

Looking for inspiration for getting fit after 50, 60 or more. This is a monthly list of inspirational articles we have read that we wanted to share! It is updated weekly, so bookmark it to keep coming back!

When the beat of applause has died down...

When the beat of applause has died down...

Once your main event is over, what happens next? For many people and this year I'm definitely affected, the completion of a major goal or race leads on to a dip in motivation and enthusiasm. This brief article tells the story from the authors point of view and also suggests a couple of alternative strategies to get the flames burning again!

Sometimes it's ok to say no....

Sometimes it's ok to say no....

The race was booked months ago... it was in the 2017 training plan and I put a couple of months work to get myself ready... But come the week of the race, I just wasn't excited about the event.

2017 - Taking the time to create a high level training programme...

2017 - Taking the time to create a high level training programme...

Training Programme and Training planning - putting the elements together for an overall 2017 training plan.

My Sugar Free Month

My Sugar Free Month

I decided to go Sugar Free for the whole of March : How was it, and what are my top tips for staying on track! Healthy Eating ; Sugar Free Diet

Sa Calobra - who will be king of the mountain?

Sa Calobra - who will be king of the mountain?

Sa Calobra is a category 1 climb in the Tramuntana mountain range in Mallorca.

Beginners - Top Tips for staying on track

Beginners - Top Tips for staying on track

Based on your 3, 6 or 12 month goals, you’ll have been keen to get out and get started and from the moment you start your first session, the new choices you are making are reality. Use the handy guide below to help keep yourself on track over the whole of the first few weeks...

How to set yourself achievable goals

How to set yourself achievable goals

A brief guide to help you set yourself achievable and realistic goals - an ideal start for new challenges in 2017!

Welcome to Fit After 50

Welcome to Fit After 50

Welcome to Fitafter50 - a website and community, dedicated to helping people find challenge, motivation and inspiration when you are 50+

You're doing what??? I know people think I'm bonkers!

You're doing what??? I know people think I'm bonkers!

Why I set myself challenges. Finding inspiration. Finding a personal goal.